2016 Alaska Drive Day 14-16: 200,000 Miles & Final Wrap-up

27481330776_1d5b06547e_z

Guess what? We have a milestone on our hands regarding the 6. She passed 200,000 miles just outside Barstow, California on June 3, 2016! It’s been just under two years of ownership, and I didn’t expect to reach this milestone this soon. Woo-hoo!

Well, we are here to wrap up the longest and one of the most memorable trips I’ve ever been on. I am home, and the Alaska drive is officially completed. I’m amazed that Tyson and I had been able to accomplish this in just over two weeks driving the entire time ourselves. We came pretty darn close to truck driver status there! I want to thank Tyson for helping make it such a smooth and easy trip. My drive time was a little longer than his due to my starting location, and my desire to travel home a different route.

The 6 was sweet the whole way and didn’t miss a beat. The biggest maintenance item was simply keeping a close eye on the oil level and adding as needed. I completed nearly 9,000 miles and I added a total of 4qts of oil. This is nothing new to me. I did have an issue with the air conditioner that’s explained below, but no other maladies to report. Overall, not too shabby. Tyson’s ILX did even better: it sailed through without having its hood opened once or even an oil change! Here’s some trip stats:

  • States Visited: 9
  • Territories Visited: 3
  • Total Miles covered: 8,936 miles
  • Total Hours in the driver’s seat: ~149 hours (!)
  • Total Gallons of Fuel: 299.7 (Includes Canadian conversion to gallons)
  • Total Fuel Cost: $856 (Includes Canadian conversion)
  • Breakdowns: 0
  • Unscheduled Maintenance Stops: 1 (A/C)
  • Flat tires: 0

The drive back since Eugene, OR was not exactly what you’d call leisurely. I had tunnel vision, and pushed a little further each day to get back. Mostly because I’m impatient, and because I’ve been over this route many times in the past.

I left Eugene, OR and traveled south on I-5 and switched over to Hwy 99 in Sacramento. From there, I stopped for the night in Turlock, CA. I originally was going to see my aunt, however she was out of town. As I approached California, the temperatures increased significantly from the crisp Canadian and Alaskan 50s and 60s. I had previously discovered in Seattle that my  A/C was pushing out hot air, but I didn’t want to bother with it then. I just figured I’d  tough it out until I got home. Many people endure the heat without A/C…how hard could it be? Maybe, I’m too spoiled, or maybe just a plain wimp…I couldn’t take it. Opening the windows on the freeway is not only extremely noisy, it just turbocharged hot air into my face which got tiring fast. Sticky black leather seats don’t help much either. So, I bit the bullet and pulled into Yreka, CA’s Auto Zone to pick up an A/C recharge kit. I didn’t know anything about the process, but I was determined to give it a try. Mercifully, it ended up taking 10 minutes or work, and voila! Cold air! I will never again take it for granted.

The next stop from Turlock, CA was my good old faithful town of Flagstaff, AZ. That day was 14 hours long, and I felt it. I did a visit with James Zamora in Socorro, NM, and I arrived at my house Sunday evening. I was very pleased to be back and to take out the luggage for the last time. Before we get to my photo feed below, let me share a video of my drive on Sunset Beach in Oregon from Day 13. This is something I forgot to include in my last post:

Thank you all for coming along on the epic drive. See you next time!

Drive through northern California on I-5.

27438269891_1004ecf962_z

A lot of sightings of triple duty semis!

26820714414_a7b268c898_z

Mt. Shasta, a potentially active volcano, viewpoint.

26901319134_7a3dff7d74_z

Couldn’t resist capturing this “Woof Waste” station at a rest stop.

27438274251_70bbbb5cb9_z

Central California’s blooming oleanders in the medians. Sure spices up the scenery!

26822440943_c8a6895188_z

The hottest observed temperature on the trip in Turlock, CA. The coldest was in British Columbia at 32 degrees Fahrenheit.

27476118476_0c8db15256_z

A quick A/C recharge that actually worked! Good reviews on A/C Pro paid off.

27357952241_78dc2f6796_z

Slight bypass off the main road on Tehachapi Loop road.

27438328991_d01d14f549_z

Views from the loop road.

27438344241_ee94280ff3_z27476101896_076c613e38_z

My 200,000 mile milestone!

27510618065_e0cfc5bca3_z26902677633_8706e3a77f_z

Capturing the moment with quick walk around.

Getting back into New Mexico.

26902627243_47dd99930e_z

While in Socorro, NM, I spotted a 6 just like mine for sale. V6 5-spd too!

27411674312_c7a322c1a1_z

Home at last! That little MGB in the garage will come out to play on this blog soon.

26902626353_6797515206_z

In closing, Tyson created a montage of our top events. It’s well worth the look!

 

6 thoughts on “2016 Alaska Drive Day 14-16: 200,000 Miles & Final Wrap-up

  1. tysonhugie says:

    What a perfect way to roll 200,000 in the 6, on a the tail end of an awesome trip like that. I got so used to seeing that car in my rearview mirror for a couple of weeks. Nice job on getting the A/C taken care of on your own. And good job pulling together the stats. I love the beach driving vid! Gotta get up there.

  2. pawela says:

    The beach driving definitely made the extra miles worth it for me. I am so glad to have had the 200k come on this trip rather than on a daily, forgettable commute. Been a blast and can’t wait for the next big adventure!

  3. Carlos says:

    Congratulations. 200,000 miles is a big milestone. 🎉

  4. Brad Heffran says:

    Congrats on the milestone! Other than the mud that car is looking good for 12 years and 200k miles. Any idea where the oil leak is? If it’s a bad seal, switching to a high mileage oil might help because of the seal plumping additives.

    • pawela says:

      Thanks, Brad! She’s hanging in there. I have several little hail dings I’d like to take out soon. The oil leak is from the timing chain cover. The labor cost is so high that I decided to roll with it and have been for almost two years now. I actually was thinking about trying out Castrol’s high mile stuff and see what it could do. I’ve read that people claim it eliminated or at the very least slowed down leaks.

Leave a Reply

