Nursing the 6 to 200k

24235265631_e25cc4296b_o

Happy New Year! I hope everyone had an opportunity to close out 2015 on a good note. 2016 is looking quite good on my end. Big events are scheduled to happen:

  • A 7,500 mile drive from Las Cruces, NM to Fairbanks, AK (Yup! That’s Alaska!)
  • The 6 might hit 200,000 miles
  • I should have a big chunk of bills paid off and ready live in the black
  • My car stable might grow a bit (updates will come)

The biggest event of the year is a drive I have been planning to Alaska in mid-May. A starting point in Las Cruces all the way to Fairbanks should be good for around 7,500 miles. My buddy Tyson (drivetofive) and I had been planning this for some time now. We also have a few other road trippers that might join. (Let’s do this, Josh!) More updates on this will come as we get closer to departure.

My other items listed aren’t quite as exciting, but they are pretty big for me. Finances are projected to get well sorted out (this was the main reason why I said bye-bye to the TL) and I have another car to share with you all. That’s yet to be revealed.

Now, let’s get to some of the news that’s not quite as positive. You may have noticed that I used the word, “might” in my 6 achieving 200,000 miles. I have an issue which I’m trying to sort out that could lead to the demise of the 6 or possibly a rather hefty repair bill. Check out the warming light that greeted me last month:

24235256621_7b61ecefcf_o

Yup, that’s a low oil pressure warning light. No ill symptoms have come from it and it only comes on when I’m idling with the engine good and warm. Blimp the throttle, and it goes away. An oil pressure test revealed that I’m at 10psi at idle and that’s dangerously low. I have not been able to tell if my oil pump is the culprit, clogged up oil pickup tubes, or if my inner rings are just worn.  I have not made any decisions yet.

24022185670_d35faa5750_o

As of now, I’m still daily driving it. 180,000 miles and it seems strong. No smoking, good power and no odd noises have developed. As long as the revs are above 1,000, the oil pressure is good. I shall bring updates as time goes on. Despite this, I’m looking forward to the new year and I’m going to do what I can to nurse this car to 200k on the original motor. See you in a bit!

24022186180_453173a668_o

[Edited]

I also have a quick update on my old Acura TL. It’s still cruising around in Dallas, TX by the third owner, Justin. Currently, the TL has about 68,000 miles on the clock and is being regularly pampered and appreciated. Thanks for the photos, Justin. Hope you keep on enjoying!

24296548286_f1b24b936c_o22333777296_252378faee_o

6 thoughts on “Nursing the 6 to 200k

  1. Charlie says:

    Speaking of the TL, do you have any updates on that car from the person that bought it from you?

    • pawela says:

      Actually, yes! I have a few new photos I could share on that. It is being very well cared for at the moment. I still miss it greatly. I will update this post accordingly. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. tysonhugie says:

    Jason, that’s kind of worrisome about the low oil pressure light but I wonder why it’s only acting up intermittently! Sounds like performance is unaffected so I say, keep on rolling! I’m definitely looking forward to Alaska. By the way, adding another car to the stable? Is this one that I already know about? 🙂

    • pawela says:

      Yup, I have to admit I haven’t been driving quite as carefree the past few weeks. This thing is GOING to last for Alaska. I’ll push it if I have to. Haha. Nope, the possible new addition is still under wraps at this point. 😀 (Hint: Think 4×4).

  3. Nate says:

    Warning lights are never a good thing but hopefully the problem isnt too bad. Cant wait to see what the next addition to the stable is!!

Leave a Reply

