Will it Zoom-Zoom again?

Let’s see what’s going to happen to the 6. I took a trip down to the tow yard the next day to survey the damage and get a few belongings out of the trunk.

First off, if you’re wondering about the upcoming photos here, I swapped out the sport grille for the “chrome mustache grille” a few weeks prior to the accident. I’ve always preferred this to the sport one. I’ll elaborate on that in the near future.

IMG_1776

Sure doesn’t look right sitting here.

IMG_1799

All of the cars in this row were tows from recent wrecks and they were awaiting insurance adjusters or for the owners to decide what to do.

Some were minor like mine, some not so lucky. This GMC Suburban had joined the lot just two days before mine (12/12/14). The dates are written on the windshield.

IMG_1800

This poor Lincoln Town Car had been sitting since the first week of December.

IMG_1805

This 2nd generation Mazda 3 looks like it lost a battle with a larger vehicle.

IMG_1806

I do wish all the owners well. I went about looking at the damage on the 6. The passenger rear wheel is definitely not sitting right. Suspension work will definitely be in order.

IMG_1787

Ouch!

IMG_1782

IMG_1780

IMG_1778

Luckily, I didn’t see any issues with the front of the car. I remember slamming over the curb and going into landscaping, but it was dark and I could have missed something.

IMG_1792

Here’s what’s been going on:

On December 17th, I got a call from my insurance claims adjuster and she informed me that due to the damage that I had described and the mileage and age of the 6, they would have to declare it a total loss. They hadn’t been out to inspect it yet, but that was pretty much a sure thing according to her. She asked for my permission to have them move it to their salvage yard for the final inspection. Being fairly new at this and not knowing the full process, I then asked if I could have a shop of my choice take a look and run their estimate for the repairs. She said that the paperwork had already begun for the move to their own salvage lot. I had a firm belief that the damage couldn’t be much over $1,000 and I voiced this concern to her. She told me that because my car was 10 years old and had close to 200,000 miles that the value wasn’t going to match. Say, what now? 200,000 miles!? I only have 146,900 to date! Turns out, the insurance company had been obtaining info on my Grandpa’s 2004 Mazda 6, not MY 2004 Mazda 6. I share a policy with him and it’s been a fun battle getting the two cars separated on record. The last four of the VIN numbers are even similar! No matter how many times I read back the correct VIN number, I end up getting put on as the primary driver on his 6. Nice “LOL” on this. In the end, they couldn’t find my car in their system and I’d have to wait yet another day for all the paperwork to be corrected. Not even my local agent could confirm, even though they sent me the insurance cards a week after I bought it. *sigh*

Fast forward a few days, and several phone calls back and fourth, they finally had all the info straight on MY 2004 Mazda 6. Long story short, the 6 is going to be fully rehabilitated and back on the road soon enough. It’s in the shop awaiting a new rear upper control arm, a possible new wheel and a fresh alignment. More repairs might be needed as the process moves along, but the total bill thus far is going to be well under $600. I’m hoping by the first of the year, I’ll be back in the driver’s seat.

Once everything was cleared up, I was able to have AAA tow the 6 to my body shop of choice, Borman Autoplex Body. Here she is getting the tow.

IMG_1801

Once the 6 was on the bed of the truck, I looked it over once more.

IMG_1809

IMG_1813

IMG_1812

IMG_1811

The Saturn that hit me was wearing a front plastic dealer plate. There were still pieces of it jammed into the lug nuts!

IMG_1814

Hard to see here, but there are plenty of scuffs in the rear quarter panel and bumper area. The bumper is also slightly misaligned. Easily (I hope) buffed out and adjusted when I do a full paint correction on my own. I’m not having the body shop touch this as I’m afraid they’d resort to doing a respray. That’s a big NO for me.

IMG_1821

IMG_1817

IMG_1820

Rising from the dead, she’s off to the shop. It’s only a matter of time now before I’ll be back on the road. Thanks for following and stay tuned for more updates. Stay safe out there, friends. 🙂

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Will it Zoom-Zoom again?

  1. tysonhugie says:

    I’m glad I know there’s a happy ending to this chapter of the 6 Saga. (spoiler alert). That’s odd the insurance company keeps mixing up your 6 with Grandpa’s! Imagine if Jouhl had his on the same policy too! People would be scratching heads.

    • pawela says:

      Tyson, thanks and me too! Yeah the insurance hasn’t quite got everything straight yet but at least for this whole fiasco all is well. Jouhl was on too that would definitely raise a few eyebrows in headquarters.

Leave a Reply

