Fresh Detail for the TL

Happy Thursday! I don’t have any special “throw-back-Thursday” content to share, but I do have some reflections. Literally. It’s amazing how time flies. This January 16th marks the second month of ownership with the TL. With the weather warming up recently and my having some free time, I figured I’d give the exterior a good detail/paint correction. I started with a thorough wash to get the loose dirt and grime off.

IMG_1264

IMG_1265

After all was dry, I pulled into the garage to survey the condition of the paint. Looks pretty healthy and clean, right?

IMG_1268

Wrong! I set up my halogen lights and they revealed just how scratched and bruised the paint had become. Causes? Most of the scratches came with the car when I bought it in November of 2013. A few careless wash jobs from Hoy Fox Acura and my recent trip to Fresno Acura added their fair share. This being the Crystal Black Pearl, every single little nick, scratch and clear coat imperfection will easily show up in direct sunlight or in this case, halogen lights.

IMG_1275 IMG_1276 IMG_1278

The door handles were in a class of their own for extreme need of detail.

IMG_1279

So scuffed and marred that there was virtually no shine to the paint inside the door handle.

IMG_1280

So I settled down for the night and a good majority of the next day performing a full detail. My process to correct this was as follows:

  • Wash with Meguiars Wash & Wax
  • Meguiars Clay Bar
  • Meguiars 85 Compound applied with PC (Porter Cable) Green pad
  • Meguiars 205 Polish applied with PC Black pad
  • Meguiars 7 Glaze applied with another PC Black pad
  • Meguiars Carnauba Wax applied with PC Red pad

Most of the chemicals were applied with my Porter Cable rotary buffer used at various RPMs. Let’s see how it all turned out!

With the first step, I opened up a fresh box of Meguiar’s clay bar kit.

IMG_1270

I also made sure my pads were clean and dry with numerous clean microfiber clothes for buffing. Doesn’t make sense to spend hours correcting the paint and then adding new scratches by polishing with dirty rags, right?

IMG_1271

Here’s the Meguiar’s 85 and 205 products. I’ve been using these for years and the results have been great.

IMG_1272

For the final polishing stage, here’s the Glaze which was applied with a new PC black pad.

IMG_1273

Sadly, the only wax I had on hand to finish it all off was Meguiar’s Carnauba Wax (red bottle). It’ s decent, but I know there are better waxes out there to give the absolute deepest gloss to the paint.

IMG_1274

I started with spraying with paint with lubricator and rubbing the clay bar.

IMG_1333

Amazing that even though the TL was just washed, grime was still lingering on the surface.

IMG_1335

After the clay, I like to tape off a section to see the results of buffing at various RPMs. It gives a great before and after test.

IMG_1282

Here’s with just the 85 Compound.

IMG_1286

…and now with the polish stage complete.

IMG_1288

It made such a huge difference!

IMG_1290

IMG_1291

The hood shows the state of my messy and cluttered garage.

IMG_1297

IMG_1298

Almost like a mirror!

IMG_1346

IMG_1354

In addition to other little details on the car, I applied some Mother’s Metal Polish to clean up the exhaust tips.

IMG_1341

Here’s a section of the rear bumper…

IMG_1348

IMG_1347

IMG_1349

No car detail would be complete without a self pic in the paint.

IMG_1353

Day three I took the TL out in the sun to see if I missed any areas.

IMG_1331

IMG_1328

I also gave some more business to superbrightleds.com for some LED license plate lights. I think they modernize the area so much. Why Acura insists on using traditional incandescent accessory bulbs on a $40,000+ car is beyond me. Here’s before the install…

IMG_1313

And after. So much brighter with a nice white tint.

IMG_1317

Even shows up on the backup camera.

IMG_1322

To wrap up here, I’ll share a moment when my inner “red-neck” came out. I sold a leftover rear underbody spoiler from the Accord, and I had the challenge to drive it to UPS for shipment. Since Acura doesn’t allow the rear seats to fold down, I just stuffed the box as far in the trunk as it would go, and then taped the trunk down to the box. I then had a rather amusing/white-nuckle drive through town with 4ft of box sticking out with some microfiber rags taped on the edges to warn motorists there’s an idiot transporting something half the length of his car. Hey, it worked!

IMG_1408

The backup camera was temporarily useless…

IMG_1410

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Fresh Detail for the TL

  1. clymerdude says:

    Beauty job! How much to do mine? The TSX needs it desperately!

    • tysonhugie says:

      Hey Josh, get in line! Jason’s gonna do mine first, right? Haha. WOW that paint shines!

    • pawela says:

      If you’re ever in the area, bring it on by! Tyson, I highly doubt yours needs anything with how meticulous you are keeping things clean. However, next time you stop by NM, we can take a look.

  2. tysonhugie says:

    Jason, what a phenomenal job you did with that! Your car looked so amazing in person that I had no idea there were that many scratches in the paint. Black paint will surely keep you busy maintaining that level of shine. NIcely done!

    • pawela says:

      Thanks, Tyson! It sure took long enough to get it detailed and I still see some areas that will need more touching up when spring rolls around. You bet that black paint will keep me busy!

  3. Randall says:

    WHOA WHOA WHOA WHOA WHOA WHOA. WHOA! Can I ship you my car through UPS? lol

Leave a Reply

