Roswell, NM

For the final leg of my trip, let’s explore Roswell, NM!

As I drove through Roswell NM, much of it looked very much like any other midsized town. I captured a shot of Roswell Honda as I felt it actually looked larger than the one in ‘Cruces.

IMG_9553

Rainfall around here is sparse, but there seems to be enough moisture to keep the neighborhoods alive with towering mature sycamore and elm trees.

IMG_9563

Then as I headed towards Main St., the alien/UFO stuff appears. Example: This McDonnalds has a east wing which is built in a shape of a flying saucer.

IMG_9573

IMG_9575

IMG_9600

At night, this is what it would look like…

normal_03-mcdonalds-01

Further north on Main St. is a Super 8 Hotel which isn’t shy to give their own take of what should draw tourists in. Meet the Stealth Saucer.

IMG_9583

It may take up two parking spaces, but at least it fits the length of a car stall.

IMG_9586

The sign welcoming “guests” in…

IMG_9587

Here’s some more examples of the UFO craze.

IMG_9590

Since Roswell is more east in New Mexico, there’s a lot more traditional architecture as opposed to the southwestern adobe style where I’m from.

IMG_9604

And here’s Main St. Not a lot of traffic at this hour, but there were enough shops and touristy stops to keep anyone happy for a full day!

IMG_9606

IMG_9608

I was tempted to enter the UFO museum, but I didn’t have the cash for the entrance fee. Also, I was running out of daylight.

IMG_9609

IMG_9627

Hmmm…

IMG_9624

Looked like a perfect backdrop for a pic!

IMG_9633

With my recently purchased DSLR camera, this is my attempt at adjusting the aperture and depth of field.

IMG_9620

One neat detail on Main St. is all the street lights are illuminated in green to complement the black eyes.

IMG_9621

This guy seemed excited to be featured here.

IMG_9723

Before heading back to Las Cruces, I filled up the tank with some 90 octane from Shell outside of Roswell.

IMG_9807

I’ve been very pleased with the economy the Accord has been achieving. I got a solid 31mpg driving up to Roswell. She’s still going strong!

IMG_9812

And that concludes my trip through Roswell. Not as much to relate as I’d hoped, but overall it was a memorable experience

2 thoughts on “Roswell, NM

  1. tysonhugie says:

    Awesome skills with that new DSLR camera! Very nice. I loved the shot of the UFO taking up two parking spaces. And I think it’s pretty cool that even Mickey-D’s is getting in on the alien action.

    • Jason Pawela says:

      Thanks, Tyson. Lots to learn still. Yeah, the UFO hogging up the parking spaces was really cool to look at. Would be even cooler if I could craw inside!

Leave a Reply

