iPod/iPhone Integration

Well, let’s reveal the latest mod: I finished my iPod/iPhone integration this past weekend! Took me about 4hours in total (not consecutive) but I took my time and planned as carefully as I could. Overall, I’m very happy with the outcome. I’ve researched on several online forums, and I ended up combining a few DIYs and added a few twists here and there to make this my own.

I’m a sucker for music and I always have to have it with me on trips. For sound preference, I enjoy a good balance of crisp, clear high and mid tones in addition to a nice deep bass response. The stock 6-CD “Premium Sound System” that Honda fitted to the Accord is pretty decent, and I find it more than satisfying for my taste in music. However, long trips with just 6 CDs can grow tiring as everything starts to become repetitive. I have integrated XM Satellite Radio in the stock system, but I find the sound quality lacking and I’d rather spend the required subscription of $15 a month on something else. So, what’s left? Digital input from my iPhone. It offers near CD quality sound, and I have full function of the controls on the steering wheel. So let’s get stated:

Here’s what I used:

-USAspec PA15-HON2 iPod integration unit for Honda/Acura vehicles

-iSimple AUX mountable cable

-Some spade bits

-A 3/8 rubber grommet from Home Depot

-An Apple Lightening adaptor (so this can fit the newer redesigned port)

IMG_2635

I decided to mount my AUX port and iPod connector in the center cubby under the stereo.

IMG_2727

Taking everything apart was pretty easy.

IMG_2729

I had to be cautious when taking the cubby out since it has a few fragile plastic pieces that like to break.

IMG_2730

The rat’s nest I get to deal with…

IMG_2731

Here, I drilled the hole for the iPod cable to come through the back wall of the cubby. I used a 3/8 spade bit on my drill. The plastic was VERY soft and drilling took no time at all.

IMG_2732

I fed the cable through and then wrestled with the rubber grommet to get it to fit over the hole.

IMG_2734

Here’s the back of the cubby with the AUX cable installed above the iPod cable.

IMG_2736

When I finished with the cables, I used some basic car polish to bring the shine back to the faux carbon fiber finish.

IMG_2733

Here’s the USAspec integration unit installed and cables hooked up. The data cable flawlessly hooked up to the factory stereo as well as the AUX and iPod cable.

IMG_2737

By now it was getting dark, but I soldiered on and put everything back.

IMG_2810

And here is the finished product. The cable can be freely pulled out for use and then pushed back in as needed. I probably won’t use the AUX port much, if at all, but I like the option. Overall I’m happy with the outcome. I wanted it to look like a factory setup.

IMG_2804

IMG_2806

And the best part? This unit allows for text display on the factory stereo, and I can control everything from the steering wheel buttons.

IMG_2815

Hope this mod gives some inspiration for other folks looking to install iPod/iPhone integration. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

