Restoring the details…

I didn’t hesitate one bit the minute I drove it home. I got to work on fixing some of the details on the exterior. The trim on Accord coupes consists of a glossy black vinyl which covers a chrome trim. They tend to peel after a while in the heat and this one certainly showed.

DSCN1490DSCN1496DSCN1489

I began by heating the remaining vinyl and taking it completely off.

DSCN1504

Then I sanded it down and taped it up in preparation for painting…

DSCN1505

I used a basic automotive primer and then top coated with an automotive black.

DSCN1505DSCN1514DSCN1519

Then I tackled the cowl panel which was faded like crazy and very dirty. Looks like it hasn’t been wiped down since it was new. I cleaned it thoroughly and then dressed it in Forever Black. I also used rubbing compound to get some of the gloss back in the wiper arms. I then followed up with a polish and then a nice coat of wax. Slowly but surely…

DSCN1498_zps179161d3IMG_2969_zps2e0f7738

Leave a Reply

